‘So 2007′ Herby Corn Salad

Wiki-image. Credit: DanielZanetti

Wiki-image. Credit: DanielZanetti

You may have noticed a change to my photographs in the last few posts here at the Crafty Cook Nook. After that two-week trip with Cameron and his newly purchased iPhone, I shuffled into a mobile phone store to lay down some cash and to relinquish my tried and true flip phone for an updated smart phone.

Cameron and I wagered that there’s a 50-50 chance our sales representative either placed the phone in a decorative shadow box to display as a kitschy relic or else walked the phone outside during a break and ran it over with his car in the parking lot. Either way my flip phones days are behind me, and the brave new world of 2007 smart phone technology has finally arrived at the Middleton and Turner house.

One of the first tech prejudices I overcame upon teaching myself how to operate an iPhone was my belief that a smart phone could never capture images as well as my nicer handheld digital camera. I had to overcome a similar bias when I moved from my trusty film camera over to digital in 2004 or 2005 (Notice the pattern yet?). Cameron’s iPhone photos during our recent travel caused me to consider that for most of my photo purposes, an iPhone camera works just as well.

There was a time when I worked more professionally with photography, but these days I don’t print my own work or even bother to have someone else print most of the photographs I make. When folks engage with my photography now, it’s almost entirely digital and via the internet, and, as I learned upon snapping a few images with my iPhone, mobile phone cameras have come a long way from the early ones I tried.

I’ll admit that I’m sad my days of light meter readings and darkroom work are behind me, but on the upside, my hiking bag is now even lighter when I hit the trail and I can more easily and efficiently capture photos for the ol’ blog. Plus, I’ve joined this social media photography site called Instagram (heard of this newfangled website?), so if you’d like to connect, you can find me at @gwynnewren.

Bon Appetit cover.

Bon Appetit cover.

Now, on to the recipe of the day: this month’s Bon Appétit Herby Corn Salad. For my northern hemisphere friends, this month the corn harvest has been arriving at farmers markets and grocery store produce sections in most of our neighborhoods. You can prepare the recipe year-round with frozen corn, but in-season corn fresh from the husk is a special treat that tastes like summer.

The vinegar’s tang, blended with cooling herbs, makes this a great salad or relish during hot summer days. The grocery store wasn’t stocking fresh mint or dill last weekend, so I used a big handful of fresh chives, which worked very well, but I’ll try an herb mix next time to test out the original recipe’s intent.

Herby Corn Salad

Image by author.

Herby Corn Salad
(adapted from a Bon Appetit recipe)
Makes 4 Servings

Ingredients
– ¼ cup olive oil

- 2 tablespoons Sherry vinegar (I didn’t have sherry vinegar, so I used red wine vinegar.)

- Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

- 1 small shallot, thinly sliced

- ½ cup torn fresh herbs, such as dill, mint, and/or chives (My dill plant died while I was traveling last month, and I couldn’t find mint or dill at the grocery store, so I used all chives. The next time I make it, I’ll try the trio.)

- 3 cups raw or cooled blanched fresh corn kernels, one cup per one cob (I used raw corn off the cob. It’s the best!)

Directions
Whisk oil and vinegar in a large bowl; season with salt and pepper. Add shallot and herbs. Fold in corn; season with salt and pepper.

6 responses to “‘So 2007′ Herby Corn Salad

  1. I carry a Fuji x100s with me wherever I go now, BUT I will nevertheless pull out my Samsung S4 and use it when I’m in circumstances where cameras aren’t permitted or would be too provocative. You can get great photos with a phone now. (Good salad too!). Ken

Leave a Reply

