‘Winning Wednesday’ Baked Banana Wontons with Coconut Caramel Drizzle

“Winning” and “Wednesday” are words I don’t usually string together when two more days stand between me and the weekend, but holding an advanced copy of my favorite writer’s newest book is a special occasion, one worthy of superlative.

The Bone Clocks

Advanced Reader Copy of The Bone Clocks. Image by Cameron Turner because I was too excited to keep the camera steady.

I’ve mentioned my admiration for David Mitchell’s fiction (here, here, and here), so when his publicist sent out a press release about his new novel’s fall publication date, I kept vigil until his book tour page listed public reading dates. Unfortunately, Mitchell’s tour around the States is limited to a smattering of major cities, so I won’t be able to attend a reading in person.

Hearing that news didn’t lessen my excitement to buy a copy of The Bone Clocks once it’s released, though. I’ve been counting the days until September 2nd when the novel goes on sale in the U.S. I’ve also entered more than a few book giveaway contests on the off chance I might start reading The Bone Clocks before its official release.

Yesterday, after a long day back at work, a postal worker surprised me by flinging a half-opened media mail envelope on my front porch. I won’t traumatize you with a repeat performance of the happy dance I improv’d when I pulled an Advanced Reader’s Edition of Mitchell’s latest contribution to my bookshelf. Yes, there will be changes between this version and the version hitting the shelves in September, but at least I’ll have one copy with his autograph.

A big thank you to GoodReads for indulging my book nerd tendencies and including me in their GoodReads Giveaway marketing campaign. And of course, thanks to Mr. Mitchell for writing stories that keep me inspired as a reader and writer.

To celebrate my big win yesterday, Cameron and I finished off the baked banana wontons I’d made on Monday and that are featured in today’s post. I brought in a batch for work mates, and they made their way through the treats before noon, praising the combination of crunchy wonton shell and creamy banana filling. The kicker is the coconut caramel sauce, though. It takes less than 10 minutes to simmer the ingredients, and the warm-from-the-pot sauce offers an excellent finish to a very simple dessert recipe.

Baked Banana Wontons

Image by author.

Baked Banana Wontons with Coconut Caramel Drizzle
(Adapted from an Oh My Veggies recipe)
Makes 20

Ingredients
Baked Banana Wontons
– 2 medium bananas, mashed with a fork

- 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

- 20 wonton wrappers (see note)

- 2 tsp. coconut oil, melted (or oil mister/cooking spray)

Coconut Caramel Sauce
– 1/3 c. coconut milk (not light—you need the full-fat kind)

- 1/2 tsp. vanilla

- pinch of salt

- 1/4 c. sugar

2 TBS water

Directions
Baked Banana Wontons
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Combine cinnamon and banana in a small bowl. Place a heaping teaspoon of banana filling in the center of each wonton wrapper. Brush edges of wrapper with a small amount of water, fold into a triangle, and press edges together to seal.

Baked Banana Wontons

Wontons, filled. Image by author.

3. Brush both sides of each finished wonton with coconut oil (or spray both sides with oil or cooking spray). Place wontons on a baking sheet.

4. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until corners are browned and crispy.

Coconut Caramel Sauce

1. Whisk together coconut milk, vanilla, and salt in a small bowl. Set aside.

2. Combine sugar and water in a small heavy-duty saucepan over medium-high heat. Do not stir! Allow mixture to come to a boil. Once it begins to boil, watch it like a hawk. Eventually the mixture will start to smell like caramel and turn a golden color, then light brown. This will take about 6 minutes.

3. When you see that it’s started to turn brown, slowly pour in coconut milk mixture, whisking constantly and quickly. If the sugar hardens around the whisk, don’t worry; it will melt. Just keep whisking. Continue to heat over medium-high until mixture has thickened and is a light caramel color, about 5 minutes more. Drizzle over wontons.

4 thoughts on “‘Winning Wednesday’ Baked Banana Wontons with Coconut Caramel Drizzle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 846 other followers

