Party Time Pico de Gallo

Remember last week when I offered up a quick and easy bowl of cheesy grits topped with beans and salsa?

Image by author.

Image by author.

This Friday it’s all about the pico de gallo. I’ve eaten plenty of pico de gallo in restaurants and have never been a huge fan. I prefer saucier salsas, pureed and spicy, but Cameron and I finished off this batch of pico de gallo at one go last week. It goes great with the rich grits and heavy beans, providing a light, tangy finish in every bite.

If you’re gearing up for a party this weekend (or planning for next month’s Cinco de Mayo), grab these ingredients at your grocery store and get chopping. In the time it takes you to reach your destination, this salsa will have marinated to perfection.

Pico de Gallo

Image by author.

Party Time Pico de Gallo
(a Feast recipe)
Makes 1 1/2 cups

Ingredients
- 2 jalepeño chiles, seeded and minced

- 1 small red onion, minced

- 2 large firm, ripe heirloom or beefsteak tomatoes, chopped (I used on-the-vine tomatoes since that’s what was available at my local grocery store.)

- 1 garlic clove, minced

- Juice of 1 lime

- 2 TBS chopped fresh cilantro leaves

- Sea salt

- Finishing oil for drizzling

Directions
1. Toss together the jalepeños, onion, tomatoes, garlic, lime juice, and cilantro in a medium bowl.

2. Season with salt, and soften the bite and acidity of the onion and tomato with a drizzle of finishing oil. Serve at room temperature.

10 responses to “Party Time Pico de Gallo

    • I grew up in the land of grits but never ate them until I was an adult. While they’re still novel to me, I like mixing some lighter toppings to balance their richness. (I guess I could cut out the cheese in the grits, eh? ;))

  1. Pingback: Cinco de Mayo Guacamole | The Crafty Cook Nook·

  2. Pingback: Cinco de Mayo Guacamole | The Crafty Cook Nook·

Leave a Reply

