The Improbable Success of Flour-less Peanut Butter Pie Cookies

Creative Commons image. Credit: Brett Jordan.

Creative Commons image. Credit: Brett Jordan.

When a loved one mentions he or she can’t eat gluten, I always feel a pang of sadness. There go baked goods, sweet and savory. Even though I limit the amount of all-purpose flour I consume for health reasons, I can still enjoy hearty whole-grain bread, bagels, and the occasional wheat flour-based dessert. For me, moderation is preferable to an all-out moratorium on foods that contain gluten.

Part of my problem with gluten-free baking is that in trying to replicate baked goods that contain wheat, it’s forced into a comparison game where I’ve yet to claim it victor. I’m not giving up, though. Part of my mission at the Crafty Cook Nook is to offer a variety of recipes and cooking styles so that people with or without dietary restrictions can find something delicious to cook or bake at home.

The Longevity Kitchen has been my gluten-free go-to cookbook for the past year. Because the author and cook, Rebecca Katz, can’t eat gluten, she concocted all sorts of recipes that are naturally gluten-free, with stellar results. I’ve featured many of her vegetarian and vegan recipes on my blog, though if you eat meat and seafood, you’ll find those kinds of tasty recipes within her cookbook’s pages, too.

I haven’t attempted any of her dessert recipes yet, but after a work friend mentioned her frustration with gluten-free dessert cookbooks that aren’t any different from every other dessert cookbook except for replacing wheat flour with a store-bought gluten-free baking mix, I revisited The Longevity Kitchen‘s small dessert section. (Unfortunately, the key to longevity is to limit how much sugar you consume.) Bingo. A cookbook that offers dessert recipes that include naturally gluten-free ingredients rather pointing me to an expensive baking mix.

I’ll experiment with Ms. Katz’s dessert recipes in the coming weeks, but today’s post features a gluten-free cookie recipe from the food blog, One Sweet Heat. Prepare yourself for a quick-prep and quick-bake cookie that comes together without a pinch of wheat or gluten-free flour mix.

I was skeptical, too. How could a flour-less cookie meet my exacting cookie standards? Apparently, fat helps. Below you’ll find a gluten-free peanut butter cookie recipe that yields soft, rich deliciousness in every bite. Even better, it’s sweetness comes from honey rather than refined sugar.

 Flourless Peanut Butter Pie Cookies

Image by author

Flourless Peanut Butter Pie Cookies
(a One Sweet Heat recipe)
Makes 36 cookies

Ingredients
– 1 cup peanut butter

- 8 oz cream cheese, softened

- 1/2 cup honey

- 1 tsp vanilla

- 1/4 tsp sea salt

- 1/2 tsp baking soda

- 1 egg

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.

2. Mix all ingredients together with a hand mixer or a stand mixer, 15-30 seconds, depending on the power of your mixer. The “dough” will seem runny – somewhere between a batter and a dough.

3. Drop with a cookie scoop (mine is a 2-tsp size) onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat. Place cookies 2″ apart (they will spread!).

4. Bake for 12-13 minutes, or until golden brown. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for a few minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Flourless Peanut Butter Pie Cookies

Image by author.

7 thoughts on “The Improbable Success of Flour-less Peanut Butter Pie Cookies

    • I responded on your blog but realize I didn’t here. Thank you for visiting, tinywhitecottage, and for sharing that recipe. I’ll be trying it this spring.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 847 other followers

