We’ll Always Have Broccoli and Potato Gribiche

Casablanca. Wiki Commons image.  Trailer screen shot.

Casablanca. Wiki Commons image. Trailer screen shot.

Like many French words, gribiche comes out soft and whispery when I say it. And I’ve said “gribiche” several times a day since finding it in a Super Natural Every Day recipe. If you’re like me, gribiche, a mayonnaise-style cold egg sauce, isn’t one of the words your French teacher drilled into your head during weekly word challenges, and that’s truly too bad because gribiche glove-slapped my taste buds last week, and I’m ready for another rumble.

I have a love-hate relationship with mayonnaise. It looks so gross when I open my store-bought version, a glistening white-plastic goo that sends my soul shivering, but occasionally I close my eyes, slather some on a vegan hot dog or stir some into tuna salad, and am glad I did.

This gribiche sauce, made from one hard-boiled egg yolk and ample olive oil, gives the depth of a mayo but looks mostly like a rich olive oil dressing popping with shallots and fresh herbs. Tossed with roasted broccoli, fingerling potatoes, and protein-packed eggs, this salad is a new lunch and potluck/picnic favorite. While it’s best when eaten immediately, the salad still tastes A-okay when re-warmed for lunch, and if you share, you’ll have a chance to breathlessly whisper “gribiche” to a friend or loved one.

Broccoli and Potato Gribiche

Image by author.

Broccoli Gribiche (adapted from a Super Natural Every Day recipe)
Serves 4

Ingredients
– 1.5 LBS small fingerling potatoes, unpeeled, scrubbed & dried (cut into smaller chunks if bigger than your thumb)
– ½ c + 2 TBSP olive oil
– Salt
– 12 oz broccoli florets
– 4 large eggs, hard cooked & peeled (see quick how-to recipe below this main dish recipe)
– 3 TBS wine vinegar
– 1 tsp Dijon style mustard
– 1 TBS capers, chopped
– 2 shallots, finely chopped
– 1 TBS parsley, chopped (I substituted with cilantro.)
– 1 TBS tarragon, chopped
– 1 TBS chives, chopped

Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 400 to roast the vegetables. Toss potatoes with a TBSP of olive oil and a pinch or two of salt. Spread evenly on a baking sheet. Do the same with the broccoli but set aside and wait to roast the broccoli since broccoli roasts faster. Place potatoes in oven. Bake for 30 minutes. Toss, add separate baking sheet with broccoli & bake both for another 15 minutes.

2. To make the dressing: in a medium-sized bowl, mash up the egg yellow. Very slowly drizzle in the olive oil, beating constantly; the dressing should look smooth and glossy. Whisk in the vinegar and then the mustard. Stir in the capers, shallots, herbs & ¼ tsp salt.

3. Coarsely chop the remaining eggs, and gently fold them into the dressing. Place the warm potatoes & broccoli in a large bowl, and gently toss with ¾-ths of the dressing. Add more dressing to taste.

Egg-boiling Magic
1. Place eggs in a medium sauce pan of cold water (water should cover the eggs by an inch.)

2. Bring to a gentle boil over medium heat. The eggs should just barely start rattling against the bottom of the pan.

3. Turn off heat, cover, and let sit for exactly 7 minutes longer if you’re using extra-large eggs.

4. Have a big bowl of ice water ready. When the eggs are through cooking, put them in the ice water for about 3 minutes, long enough to stop the cooking. Peel carefully.

15 thoughts on “We’ll Always Have Broccoli and Potato Gribiche

  1. Gribiche is delightful, herbs, mustard, capers rarely fail in combination. That said, I last made it at Christmas and it was a disaster as I got impatient and added the oil to quickly. I should know better, but am encouraged to return to it as I know it will be immense with broccoli and tiny potatoes. Thanks.

    • Thanks, Mikaela Joy. I’m not too well-versed on French cooking, partly because it’s always seem very focused on meat, but I’m learning some new recipes that maximize on French flavors these days and have been impressed.

      • I just bought a Julia Child cookbook and made chicken and mushroom crepes. I must say, I could do more of that style. It may not be something to do daily (unless you can handle all that butter and cream), but I think learning french cooking is a really good way to expand ones cooking horizons.

  2. Even though I’d heard of gribiche I never knew exactly what it was. The odd thing is, this is how I make my mayo as I won’t buy shop-bought – regardless of its flavour. Really must try adding the other ingredients as I do like all of them. Well, excepting fresh tarragon and chervil as I can’t buy those here!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 839 other followers

